Sex Offender Registry Frequently Asked Questions
What do I do if I think a person is a sex offender but I don’t see them on the web site?
Not every sex offender is required to register in Wyoming, or they may have registered previously and are no longer required to register under the provisions of the Registration Act. If you believe that an offender has a duty to register but is not on the public website, please contact either your local law enforcement agency or the Wyoming Sex Offender Registry via phone or email. If sending email please send as much information as you can provide including name, date of birth or age, address where the offender may be located, what the crime was, and where and when the offender was convicted.
Why are the registered sex offenders living by a school or playground?
Wyoming Statutes Section 6-2-320(a) prohibits adult registered sex offenders from being on school grounds or living within 1,000 feet of a school. That statute includes some exceptions. If you believe a registered sex offender is illegally living near an educational facility, please contact your local law enforcement agency.
What happens when a sex offender does not comply with registry and rules of registration?
Per the Wyoming Sex Offender Registration Act statute 7-19-307(c), sex offenders who do not comply with registration requirements can be convicted of “failure to register”, which is a felony on the first offense, and is punishable by a fine of up to $1,000 and incarcerated up to 5 years, or both.
What are the restricted areas a sex offender cannot be at?
Wyoming Statute 6-2-320(a) prohibits adult registered sex offenders from being on school grounds or living within 1,000 feet of a school. That statute includes some exceptions.
How do I search the Sex Offender Registry?
The Wyoming Sex Offender Registry public website can be searched by last name, address, city, county, zip code or radius map from address.
How much information about offenders is provided to the public?
The amount of information provided to the public on the Wyoming Sex Offender Registry public website it controlled by statute. The information that can be provided is listed in Wyoming Statute 7-19-303(c)(iii). That information is currently available on the Wyoming Sex Offender Registry public website.
How do I sign up to receive a notification when a sex offender moves into my neighborhood?
There are two features available by subscription on the Wyoming Sex Offender Registry public website. You can sign up to track a specific offender by clicking on the link “track this offender” on the offender’s home page, or you can get a general list by accessing the “Public Notification” tab on the left side of the search page. The Public Notification tab allows the subscriber to sign up by specific zip code. In both cases, the subscriber will need to provide their name and a valid email address for the notice to be sent to. You may sign up for as many notifications as you desire, but each will need to be subscribed to individually.
I know of someone who was convicted of a sex crime in another state but his/her name is not on the list. Why not?
Not every sex offender is required to register in Wyoming, or they may have registered previously and are no longer required to register under the provisions of the Registration Act. If you believe that an offender has a duty to register but is not on the public website, please contact either your local law enforcement agency or the Wyoming Sex Offender registry via phone or email. If sending email please send as much information as you can provide including name, date of birth or age, address where the offender may be located, what the crime was, and where and when the offender was convicted.
Who has to register as a sexual offender in Wyoming?
Any person convicted in Wyoming of a registerable sex offense on or after January 1, 1985, must register in Wyoming within three business days of arriving in this state. If convicted of a Wyoming repealed statute, or of a federal or out of state conviction, a legal review to determine the Wyoming equivalent statute will be conducted after the offender has registered to determine the further duty to register. Wyoming does not consider the offender’s duty to register in another state.
What are the listed sexual offences?
The registerable Wyoming statutes are listed in Wyoming Statutes 7-19-302(g), (h) and (j). If the conviction was not listed in those statutes, a legal review will need to be conducted after the offender registers.
How long must offenders remain registered as sex offenders?
All offenders in Wyoming register for life.
How often must offenders verify their address?
Frequency of verification is determined by the registration category as set out in Wyoming Statutes 7-19-302(g), (h), and (j). The sheriff’s office in the county where the offender is register will notify the offender of the frequency.
How do I obtain additional information on an offense committed by a registered offender?
You would need to contact the court of conviction or arresting agency for that information. The Wyoming Sex Offender Registry cannot release any more information than what is displayed on the public website as defined by 7-19-303(c)(iii).
Are there juveniles on the website?
Registered juveniles are prohibited by statute to be displayed on the public website. If you require more information, please contact the sheriff’s office where the offender is registered.
What happens when an offender moves to another state?
The offender is required to deregister, in person, with the sheriff’s office where they are registered and provide the address where the offender is going. The Wyoming Sex Offender Registry will then notify the receiving state of the offender’s intent to relocate. The offender has three business days to report to the new state, or they will become non-compliant and subject to arrest.
Who should I contact if I know of an error on the web site?
You can contact the registering sheriff’s office (the county where the offender lives) or the Wyoming Sex Offender Registry personnel at email@example.com Conviction information is verified by court documents.
Whom should I contact if I think an offender is in violation of their duty to register?
Please contact your local law enforcement agency, or the sheriff’s office where the offender is registered.
How can I remove my name from the Wyoming Sex Offender Registry?
If the offender is in the “g” or “h” category they can directly petition Wyoming District Court in the county where they reside. There are provisions that must be met in order to qualify, and can be found in W.S. 7-19-304. The Wyoming Sex Offender Registry has no part of this process, and no offender will be removed from the registry without a court order.
Are the offenders listed on the site on some type of probation or parole?
Some offenders are under probation or parole, but it is not a requirement to be registered. The Wyoming Sex Offender Registry does not track probation or parole status.
How are offender’s addresses verified?
Addresses are verified by the Registry through an address verification mailing that is sent out on a set schedule based on the offender’s registration category. Verification is completed at the local agency level by personal visits and in person verification meetings, also on a set interval based on the offender’s registration category.
Are registrants required to provide updated photographs?
New photographs are required annually, and more frequently if the offender’s appearance changes.
Where do I report information regarding criminal activity on the part of a registered sex offender?
Please contact your local law enforcement agency, or the sheriff’s office where the offender is registered.
May a sex offender use a social networking website, internet chat room, or instant messaging website?
The Wyoming Sex Offender Registration Act does not provide restrictions for offenders accessing or using social networking sites, internet chat rooms, or instant messaging.
Where do sex offenders register?
Sex offenders register with the sheriff’s office(s) in the county(ies) where they will live, work or go to school. If the offender is being released from a Wyoming Department of Corrections incarceration facility, they will be registered prior to release from there, and will then need to register with the sheriff’s office.
How long does an offender have to register, once he/she has moved?
The offender must register, in person, within three business days of changing residence. This includes temporary changes (vacation, etc) that are longer than three business days in duration.
How current is this information?
The Wyoming Sex Offender Registry public website is refreshed every 30 minutes, 24 hours a day.
How is public notification made when a registrant moves into a neighborhood?
The Wyoming Sex Offender Registration Act authorizes the public notification to be made in any way that reasonably ensures notification was made. Please contact your local sheriff’s office to find out how the notifications are done in your county.
Can I find out if someone is incarcerated?
If the offender is not incarcerated on the original sex offense conviction, and has been registered in Wyoming, they will appear on the public website as “incarcerated.” You will need to contact the detention facility where the offender is housed to determine if they will release the reason.
An offender on the registry is not living at the address listed. Whom do I contact?
You should contact the sheriff’s office in the county where the offender is registered.
Do I have to hire a sex offender?
There are no provisions in the Wyoming Sex Offender Registration Act that limits where offenders can work, or requires you to hire registered offenders. It is required that the address where the offender is physically employed be displayed on the public website. You should contact your legal counsel to determine what your rights are in hiring offenders.
How do I contact the registry?
You may email us at firstname.lastname@example.org or contact by phone at (307)777-7809.
Are there registered sexual offenders who are not in your public registry?
Yes. Offenders who were adjudicated as juveniles of crimes listed in Wyoming Statute 7-19-302(j) are prohibited from being displayed on the public website. All other registration provisions are required.
I do not have to register in the state where I was convicted. Do I have to register in Wyoming?
Maybe. Wyoming does not base the duty to register on the requirements of the state of conviction, or of the duty to register in any other state. The duty to register in Wyoming is based solely on Wyoming laws, and the duty in this state may be different from any other state the offender was previously registered in.